One of the earlier legal distilleries, Teaninich was built in 1817 by Captain Hugo Munro. The distillery was then sold to his younger brother, John Munro, in 1831. The distillery was leased for several years to various parties before being bought by Robert Innes Cameron in 1904. Following his death, Cameron’s estate sells the distillery to Distillers Company Ltd. In the 1970’s, the Teaninich Distillery underwent a number of renovations including a new, 6 still distillery called “Teaninich A Side” as well as a dark grain plant. Fast forward to 2000 and “A side” is fitted with a mash filter; in 2013, Diageo announced a renovation for a new distillery placed next to the old distillery to produce a separate whisky.
This 45 year old single cask has been selected to showcase the best of the Highlands for its significant age statement and fine balance of fruit and spices creating a complexity typical of this region.
|Number of bottles:|